Wednesday, July 1, 2009

"Bunts Premier League 2009" organised by Youth wing on 30th May

After the great success of Aakanksha 2008 and the Blood Donation Camp, it was time for some play in Youth Wing. So, we decided to host our annual sports event "The Bunts Premier League" cricket tournament on 31st May, 2009 at Gaavdevi ground, Vashi. The tournament was jointly organised by Bunts Sangha Youth Wing and the Bunts Navi Mumbai Regional body.

Just like the name, the tournament format was also similar to the Indian Premier League. 8 Bunts Sangha regional teams were called to battle against each other for the title. The 8 regional teams were Andheri-Bandra Royals, Jogeshwari-Dahisar Chargers, Sion-Colaba Super Kings (City region), Kalyan-Bhiwandi Kings XI, Mira Bhayander Riders, Vasai-Dahanu Challengers, Navi Mumbai Indians and the Dombivli Dare Devils

It was a knock-out tournament with the loosing team not getting a second chance to play. All the matches were 6 overs per side match, with the initial 2 overs as Powerplay, where only 3 fielders were allowed outside the inner circle. Out of the 8 teams, the four teams which made to the semi-finals were Jogeshwari-Dahisar Chargers, Mira Bhayander Riders, Navi Mumbai Indians and Dombivli Dare Devils.

The final match was between the host Navi Mumbai and Mira road. Mira road were the first to bat in the match and they lost some important wickets early in the innings, and could only manage to reach 35 runs in their 6 overs. The reply from the Navi Mumbai team was quite solid and they chased the total comfortably within 5 overs, finishing their chase with a six.

So, Navi Mumbai became the champions of the 2009 season of Bunts Premier League. Aditya Shetty from the Mira Bhayander team was named as the "Man of the tournament" for his blistering strokeplay throughout the tournament with some huge sixes.

Bunts Sangha President Mr.Aikala Harish Shetty, along with his entire team was present at the ground to felicitate the winners.

We would like to thank a few people for their help and support, without whom, this event would not have been possible. Mr. Santosh Shetty, Mr. Bhaskar Shetty, CA Shankar Shetty, Mr. Harish Vasu Shetty, Mr. Anni Shetty, Mr. Jaya A Shetty, Mr. Morya and the entire Navi Mumbai regional committee.

A big hand for the Youth Wing Managing Committee, Gautam Shetty - Chairman, Arvin Shetty - Vice Chairman, Reshma Shetty - Secretary, Prasanna Shetty - Treasurer, Vijeeth Shetty - Joint. Secretary, Ritesh Shetty - Joint. Treasurer.

This is just the beginning. We have a lot of events lined up for this year and for the coming years too. Our Annual Event Aakanksha's auditions will be held in November this year. We will start rolling out the entry forms from the next issue of Buntaravani.

1 comment:

Roshan said...

Hi, good to see such event happening i would like to know how could i join bunts sungha i stay at mira road ?
roshan hegde